• Kale Steed

Grant Named LSC Player of the Year, Brown Tabbed Coach of the Year

West Texas A&M guard Qua Grant was named the Lone Star Conference Player of the Year on Wednesday night. [Tom Carver/ Press Pass Sports]

West Texas A&M guard Qua Grant was named the Lone Star Conference Player of the Year while Tom Brown was named the Coach of the Year, announced by the league Wednesday night. Grant becomes the sixth Buff to earn Player of the Year honors with Brown being tabbed the Coach of the Year for the third straight year.

Grant and teammate Joel Murray also earned first team All-LSC and All-Defensive honors with Derrick Geddis (third team) and Jon’il Fugett (honorable mention) recognition.

Zach Toussaint was one of five players to be named to the All-Freshman Team.

Grant, a 6-foot-1 sophomore, becomes the second straight Buff to be named the LSC Player of the Year after finishing the regular season averaging 20.6 points, 7.6 rebounds and 3.2 assists per game.

In 30 starts this season, Grant scored in double figures 28 times including a career-high 32 against Angelo State on Jan. 16.

He was also named to the All-Defensive team for the first time in his career after leading the Buffs in steals (2.4) and rebounds (7.6).

West Texas A&M coach Tom Brown was tabbed LSC Coach of the Year for the third straight season. [Tom Carver/ Press Pass Sports]

Brown earned his third straight coach of the year nod after leading the Buffs to a third straight LSC regular season championship. Under Brown, No. 3-ranked WT finished the regular season with an impressive 29-1 overall mark, a 21-1 conference record, not to mention a nation-best 42-game home streak dating back to Jan. 2018.

In six seasons coaching the Buffs, Brown has amassed an eye-opening 159-40 record, taking the Buffs to back-to-back NCAA Division II Elite Eight appearances.

WT go for its third straight LSC Tournament title when they open the tournament against Texas A&M-Commerce in a quarterfinal matchup at 6 p.m. Friday at the Comerica Center in Frisco.

70 views0 comments

© 2021 Press Pass Sports.          Created by JYD Productions

  • Instagram
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon